The Route


The journey covers the Atlantic coasts of the Northern Isles, Western Isles, mainland Scotland, Ireland, Wales and England. The precise itinerary is deliberately unplanned so that I can take windows the weather gives me to roll over swell to distant, ocean-bound islands such as Foula & the Skelligs.



In attempting to make sense of Britain’s Atlantic heritage the journey does include several stretches of coast that aren’t, strictly speaking, Atlantic shores but are most definitely part of the geophysical, climatic and cultural Atlantic edge.

Here’s the rough itinerary:

  1. Shetland
  2. Orkney
  3. Lewis, Harris, Uist, Barra
  4. Cape Wrath to Ullapool
  5. Ullapool to Shieldaig (mountain crossings on foot & by packraft)
  6. Skye & the Small Isles
  7. The Islands of Argyll & Ulster
  8. Connacht
  9. Munster
  10. The Welsh Coast
  11. Cornwall & the Scillies